New WhatsApp feature: What does the little clock on the profile picture mean?

New WhatsApp feature: What does the little clock on the profile picture mean?


The popular messenger service WhatsApp announced a new feature a few weeks ago to help users with the incoming flood of messages: In the future, messages can be given an expiration date .


This is now displayed with a small clock next to the profile picture . So if you have recently received an update for the app, you will find that some of your friends have a small clock next to the profile picture.


We'll show you what the new function Expiring Messages is all about and how to activate and deactivate it.


Expiring messages: what to watch out for

The new feature will be available in the future for individual chats and group chats and can be switched on and off individually . In group chats, the admins can set the feature uniformly for all group members.


This allows you to determine which messages are automatically deleted after seven days . According to Whatsapp, they want to counteract the flood of messages and help "make the chat feel more free and private".


However, you should use the expiring messages function specifically and only for people you trust. The reason for this is that chat participants could download, photograph or otherwise archive the messages and their attachments before they disappear, which the sender may not want.


Expiring Messages: Here's How It Works

Messages are automatically deleted after seven days, including attachments such as pictures, files, and videos . If the message is still unread , it will still be deleted. The preview is shown to the recipient until Whatsapp is opened the next time. Messages that were sent before the function was activated are not affected.


When replying to such an expiring message, the previously sent message is quoted. The quoted text remains in the chat for up to 7 days.


If an expiring message is forwarded to a chat in which the new function is not activated, the message will not disappear there either.


If a user takes a backup before the message is gone, it will be saved. Once the backup is restored, the message will also disappear.



How do I turn on expiring messages?

In an individual chat, both participants can switch on running messages, in a chat group the admin switches the function on for everyone. As soon as the setting is active, new messages will disappear from the chat after 7 days.

  • Opens the WhatsApp (group) chat
  • Tap on the name of the contact / group
  • Tap on Expiring Messages
  • When prompted, tap NEXT
  • Selects On

How do I turn off expiring messages?

Both participants can switch off running messages at any time, in a chat group the admin switches the function off again for everyone. As soon as the setting is inactive, new messages no longer disappear from the chat.

  • Opens the WhatsApp (group) chat.
  • Tap on the name of the contact / group.
  • Tap on Expiring Messages.
  • When prompted, tap NEXT.
  • Selects Off.

Post a Comment

0 Comments

close